• Welcome to AutoLanka

:action-smiley-028: We found you speeding on AutoLanka Forums without any registration! If you want the best experience, please sign in. Safe driving! 

Greetings gentlemen,

I've always had a thing for station wagons, and now I'm about to buy my first vehicle. I chose 1980 Mitsubishi Lancer A72-V as my first ride. In a series of posts, I hope to document the process of buying a ride and then restoring it. This is the first in what will be a series of posts on the whole process. A few AL members have already done very much that I intend to do. Your feedback is very valuable and always appreciated.

As said before, this is my first purchase. I'm a total newbie for owning vintage cars let alone restoring one. Call me crazy or anything you want for taking a plunge in the deep end of the pool. For a number of different reasons I have selected Mitsubishi Lancer A72-V, and I'm dead set on it. My project plan is as follows.

1. Buy a car
  2. Mechanical restorations (instrument panel, engine, breaks, steering, a/c)
  3. Body restoration (tinker, paint)
  4. Interior restoration (seats and upholstery)

Now, I'm on the first part of the project. I have tracked down a drivable one and now haggling the price down to my budget. The condition is what is usual to expect from a car of that vintage.

Pros-

• Fits my budget
  • In a drivable condition
  • Clear documents (ownership, license, emission tests, insurance)
  • Chassis is in good condition

Cons-

• Blotched paint job. the car was painted twice in two different colors. the latest coating peels off (papadam in local language). This looks ugly. But there is no corrosion under the paint. So I'm giving it a go.
  • some rust spots around the rear windscreen
  • Worn out tyres
  • A/c is not working. Belt is missing, no gas, but the compressor is there.

Here are a few pics of her.