• Welcome to AutoLanka

:action-smiley-028: We found you speeding on AutoLanka Forums without any registration! If you want the best experience, please sign in. Safe driving! 

Black Smoke In Diesel , Injector Cleaning ?

chan5

Question

hi all.

I've a 1997 toyota wagon with 2C-T engine.

has done complete overhaul using genuine parts before 50,000kms.

Now it emmits a black blue colour smoke when accelerate, it's ok in idle,

my mechanic suggested an injector cleaning.

I've these questions.

1-what's it.?

2-what's the proper way of doing.(some ultrasound way)

3-what's the recommended place around colombo and the cost.

4-does it solve my problem?

5-what are the other things that i

should attend regarding this issue.

I searched the forum but didn't get quite relevant recent inputs.

And i'm new to this diesel cars.

Thanks in advance.

15 answers to this question

not really familiar with that motor but generally...black smoke means either there is too much of fuel being burnt or incomplete burn.

Blue/white smoke indicates oil burn.

Generally, when injector springs loose their tension....it ends up squirting more fuel into the chamber. result - bad fuel figures and black smoke.

Clogged air filter too will result in black smoke since the fuel isn't getting enough air to fully burn.

Another thing can be the injector pump. If the pump isn't providing enough pressure, fuel can be partially burnt.

I'm assuming this is a mechanical fuel injection motor and not electronically controlled one.

2C-T comes with a turbo charger if I'm not mistaken. How's the turbo working? does it activates at the proper RPM ? Usually 1500RPM, but just check for the specification of this engine. Also how's the diesel pump? the calibration specially. If it's not calibrated properly to control the flow of fuel, there can be black smoke too.