• Welcome to AutoLanka

:action-smiley-028: We found you speeding on AutoLanka Forums without any registration! If you want the best experience, please sign in. Safe driving! 

:: Air Filters Role ::

dragster

Question

• Answers 242
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Good question..

Need to know the effect from K&N filters as well. Ashan's RS has a huge black box (the filters) which it says guranteed for million miles.

Just want to know if these are realy effective and the market price

I'm not really an expert but here what I know. The airfilter (obviously) filters the air that's fed into the combustion chamber. So the older the filter the more muck it will have and will not let in enough air for the engine to breathe well.

So your throttle response will be lesser and there will be a power drop as combution won't be optimum.

Superior filters such as K&Ns and Pipercross are designed to filter in more and cleaner air and so combustion is better and cleaner. Result more power, more throttle response. These would certainly be more expensive but it's worth it if you want more power and response.

If you drive without the filter (which I've done :D ) throttle response becomes instant but you risk damaging your engine if sand or other muck gets in. And our air must be full of muck for sure.

Old topic macho!

Cone filter= reduces air turbulence increases and smooths out the airflow that goes through the intake. Smooth & less resistant airflow means the engine has to work less to draw in air=better economy.

Cone filters also cool down the air. Colder Air=more dense with O2.

More O2= better combustion & ignition which leads to more performance on wide open throttle and better economy on narrow open throttle

Old topic macho!

Cone filter= reduces air turbulence increases and smooths out the airflow that goes through the intake. Smooth & less resistant airflow means the engine has to work less to draw in air=better economy.