• Welcome to AutoLanka

:action-smiley-028: We found you speeding on AutoLanka Forums without any registration! If you want the best experience, please sign in. Safe driving! 

Car Restore Thread.

jdnet

Hey guys,

So after looking at tghings for a while I decided to go ahead and shop for a classic so that I can have a restore project that will keep me busy for an year or too. I'm new to the whole restore side of things so please do excvuse me if I have any stupid questions. Anyway I'm looking at a complete strip down and with a tranny and engine rebuild and will be attempting to restore it to stock or near stock specs. I will keep updating this thread as I figure things out and will be looking for advice from you.

Anyway, please try to keep this thread on topic and no sylvi B.S.

I have heard there are a few guys with the know-how such as Milindu I would appreciate your views.

So here are my first few questions.

1. Finding a car.

Here's where I need your help to begin with. Basically I'm looking at a classic thagt would be easy to find parts for either locally or internationally. Right now I'm thinking about a triumph convertabile (not sure of what the model is) but I am open to any other suggestions. The car needs to look good though....I'm not going to drive around in a restored VW bug.

2. Should I have the frame sand blasted? Is there ta place that does sand blasting in Sri Lanka?

Surprising to see no replies on this...

On car choice- the thing about any classic (and restorations)- you have to find the car that you can put your heart to.

A classic is very the object that has an emotional connection to you...i for one, love mercs and vw's.

In terms of parts availability- the rule of thumb is the rarer the car, the harder to find parts.

VW's, austins, Mercs are probably have easier local access to parts.