• Welcome to AutoLanka

:action-smiley-028: We found you speeding on AutoLanka Forums without any registration! If you want the best experience, please sign in. Safe driving! 

Shock Absorbers

shenal

Question

11 answers to this question

What type of Shocks are the best. Is it gas or oil?

Is it necessary to replace the coil spring with the shocks? Some use second hand springs which are longer than the original and ome people lengthen the spring and reuse. What is the best?

I'm no expert but this is what I know....

Gas tends to be stiffer and aid better handling (less body roll) while oil gives a more supple ride. This I have found to be true I changed from Monroe gas struts to KYB oils on an old Fiat 131 and there was a noticible difference.

That said, there are gas shocks and gas shocks. What I mean it the quality can vary depending on the brand used. Years ago when our family car was a BMW E30 we replaced the original BMW-Sachs dampers with a Spannish brand which were the only ones available in SL then. The supple ride was ruined so much that we eventually decided to sell the car. So my advice always gather info about different brands, read reviews and stick with good brands.

About the springs my knowledge is even less.............But I know you cannot mess around with lengthening condensed springs as they would lose tension. Same risk with 2nd hand springs.

Most of the time there's years of research that goes into suspension tuning to find the optimum setting. So it's certain to have an effect but I guess it's to what degree that we can tolerate it that counts. And how much financial sense it makes.

Hey Shenal,