• Welcome to AutoLanka

:action-smiley-028: We found you speeding on AutoLanka Forums without any registration! If you want the best experience, please sign in. Safe driving! 

After An Engine Tune Up

I recently (one week back) got an engine tune up done by a very famous person. He was able to solve most of the issues I had (earlier there was a noticeable difference in acceleration when I switch off the AC, now not there anymore) car is accelerating well and happy with performance. But today I went Galle and came back (Colombo) with full tank, I noticed that my car had consumed more fuel than before. (Quarter of a tank has vanished). I checked with the tune up guy and he told me that I must have accelerated more (high speed). Any comments guys? As an amateur I highly appreciate ur comments. :unsure:

you need to define 'more' better.. This should not be a problem you've probably just driven the car harder at higher revs as its now more nippier. Average Km/lt will vary depending on different conditions, therefore maybe you should continue to observe your figures over a longer period.

my average rpm was 2000. sometimes from first to second and to third went up to 3000 rpm during the trip. because i noticed that my fuel meeter had fallen down than it should be. I know that it's not the way to know whether its doing well or not. I'll be able to get more accurate figures on next wesak holidays.

Have you done a ECU reset along with the tune-up? I had the same problem. The guy who tuned my car had done a manual ECU reset and asked me to keep the engine start for 10-15 min before running, to get in to the normal heat and let the ECU set its default data.