• Welcome to AutoLanka

:action-smiley-028: We found you speeding on AutoLanka Forums without any registration! If you want the best experience, please sign in. Safe driving! 

Looking To Mod My Civic

autolankaist

Hey guys,

I bought my civic last year and I have wanted to mod it since then but I have not been able to find a proper place who can mod it for performance. I am not in to looks, I'd rather own an ugly car that is fast than a good looking car that is slow. Basically I signed up at autolanka for advice on what sort of performance mods to do and where to get it done from.

I am new at this and therefore would like some advice from the pros out there.

It is a 1.6L ES5 according to the chassis (I randomly bought it because I wanted a civic with a manual gear box and when I found one I bought it) and a Civic RS according to the papers.The YOM is 2003 and it has done 77k KMs now (I have no idea if this was fiddled with when purchasing, was at 68k when purchasing it)

The engine is a d16w7 according to the papers.

Here are some pictures,

cc96b3165873347.jpg 88663f165873371.jpg 6b91db165873397.jpg 156a31165873405.jpg 38e59c165873418.jpg 498bee165873443.jpg0cf675165874836.jpg

Please tell me where to start and a rough estimate of what it will cost me.

Thanks!

Edited by autolankaist

How about you start with cleaning that engine bay dude? :D

Me no expert but that motor is not well known as a base for performance mods since it`s a 3stage vtec-e designed for economy. There are some info on Turboing this engine on the net but IMHO that`s a waste and asking for trouble. It i were you I would invest on other stuff (light weight alloys with good rubber, suspension tune to improve handling, etc.. ), leave that engine as it is an be happy.

If you are really serious and got the money, do a "K" series motor swap (there are high output "B" series motors as well, these are mainly DOHC, but this series is quite old, not sure about availability of a good specimen).