• Welcome to AutoLanka

:action-smiley-028: We found you speeding on AutoLanka Forums without any registration! If you want the best experience, please sign in. Safe driving! 

Spark Plug Corrosion

ash_raz

Hi,

In my car, when i drive above 60kmph, it starting to give me jerks... so I took it to a mechanic and checked it. and find out that the 2 of the spark plugs have been damaged( I instralled them 1 month ago and done only 600kms) they got corossion.

The mechanic said, its a head gasket issue and he is not sure.

What do you think guys??

Please help me out

If you can post some image, forum members will get a more clear idea. or at least try to explain which part exactly got corroded.

this is a document i normally refer before i am going to do my 5000Km inspection. i remove 4 plugs and go through this document (since i am not good at keeping these things in mind :-) )

web link

I think you must be using water from Rathupaswala area in your radiator.

Seriously, it is very unlikely for a plug to corrode in one month unless you are using sulfuric acid instead of petrol (then again with the alleged low quality fuel imports to SL no one knows what would happen). Were they corroded or covered with deposits? What was the plug tip color like? Even if there is a gasket issue it is highly unlikely that would result in corrosion of plugs. BTW were the plugs original?

• Like 3