• Welcome to AutoLanka

:action-smiley-028: We found you speeding on AutoLanka Forums without any registration! If you want the best experience, please sign in. Safe driving! 

Engine change and modification

John Reyman

hi guys

looking for some legal advice...

I wonder are there any legal issues on registration when replacing with a different engine since it is my first build i need help.

i dont know whether this build is possible. but i just have an idea to build my own ride rather than bought from another one.

i may need each and every information about the build pls bear me.

i want to build a Tata ace2 with 2 Cylinders. I have a engine Nissan b211 1200cc petrol 4 cylinder car body is disabled have two CR books

i'm aware that there are so many contradictions between these two engines. and i hope that with you guys i can definitely finish my build.

Pls advice me...

IMG_20210110_171935.jpg

Hi !

Well if it was just a simple engine swap....there is some light at the end of the tunnel. (See below).

To be honet I cannot figure out what you are trying to do. Are you trying to put the Ace2 engine in to the B211 or the B211 engine in to the Ace2 ?

If the car you are planning to build is your own thing (no prior brand or model but made out of parts from multiple cars, , parts fabricated and built from scratch, etc..)......then the situation is bad. You will need to do compliance certiication tests. Sadly, in Sri Lanka all these tests are required, there is no proper framework/definition of what these requirements are. So it is a long battle between inspections, tests, changes, more inspections, more tests. This is why in SL the car industry simply has not strived. (a normal car like a Corolla is able to be registered because at the time of manufacture the manufacturer issues a certificate of conformance, which might be for Japan, region, another country, which is acceptable in Sri Lanka and is understood by default. You pretty much have to do the same thing).