• Welcome to AutoLanka

:action-smiley-028: We found you speeding on AutoLanka Forums without any registration! If you want the best experience, please sign in. Safe driving! 

Help Needed: Reliable Off-Road & Long Trip Vehicle - 5M Rs Budget

Hi everyone,

I’m new to cars and looking for some advice. People keep recommending Toyota, but there are so many brands and models I’m unfamiliar with, especially since I’ve never owned a car in Sri Lanka.

I’m open to all types of vehicles: pickups, jeeps, SUVs, etc. This will be my only car, and I plan to travel all around Sri Lanka, so some off-road capability is important.

Here’s what I’m looking for in a car:

1.    Reliability
    2.    Good fuel economy
    3.    Good ground clearance (for off-road trips)
    4.    Decent boot capacity (like a RAV4, enough for three large bags)
    5.    Reasonable maintenance costs

It doesn’t matter if it’s old or not very attractive, as long as it runs well and has AC for use in traffic.

My budget is 5 million Rs.

Thanks in advance for your expert advice and suggestions!

🙏

• Like 1

Globally, Toyotas are known to produce easy and cheap to run, low cost of maintenance, reliable and durable. HOWEVER, In Sri Lanka...90% of the Toyotas are cess-pits. They are overpriced. They have gone through the ownership of cheap people who bought it for cheap running, so they were cheap on the maintenance (including using cheap chinese parts or fake branded parts after the owner gor duped). Then, because brokers and everyone around like to treat these cars like gold, they go through quick repairs to make look shiny and pretty (deep inside its nothing but trouble). I am not saying Toyotas are bad...it is just that 90% of them have been used like crap. The very few good ones around don't get sold or get bought up even before it gets advertised. Now some models actually get saved from such owners because they are perceived as gas guzzlers and do not make the neighbor's wife's panties notched up.