• Welcome to AutoLanka

:action-smiley-028: We found you speeding on AutoLanka Forums without any registration! If you want the best experience, please sign in. Safe driving! 

Advice For Coputer Hardware

udayap

Dear All,

Sorry for posting this in an auto forum. But, I know there are lot of IT expertise are with AL

I need a Serial to USB converter to transfer data (on the go) from a field sensor (I am a researcher). I searched some converters in Kandy and found only the cheaper ones (Rs. 700) with the Prolific Processor chip. But, this converter is very unstable and it doesnot effectively transfer data from the sensor and to the sensor. Searched the net bit and found that those cheap converters (with prolific processor) are higly unreliable.

So i want to find out a branded converter (Such as Belkin or Quotum) proven to have a reliable data transfer. net says to select a converter with FTDI or Silabs processor chips. Guys, do you know a computer oultet in Colombo, i can try to find out such a good converter. Since i have to travel to colombo, thanks if you could provide some PC shops, then i can phone before going.

thanks

PS: Sorry for the error in the topic name, I could not edit the topic!!!

Edited by udayap

Go to unity plaza at Bambalapitiya. Surely they can fulfill your needs. But as I heard most of these converters are Chinese.

Thanks, I am going there today. Doent matter if it chinese as far as a reputed brand with a good processor.

I use USB-Serial converters in my line of work as well. We have tested on several models, the Prolific based converters are a hit and miss affair (mostly miss, even though we have had surprisingly good results with the kind that comes in a transparent green connector/clear wire combination). What we finally settled for were these. They can be found at Unity Plaza. If not, drop me a PM, I'll get you in touch with our supplier.

UC232A-USB-Converters-OL-large.jpg

Edited by terrabytetango