• Welcome to AutoLanka

:action-smiley-028: We found you speeding on AutoLanka Forums without any registration! If you want the best experience, please sign in. Safe driving! 

Car advice for Europe

firstgear

Question

Hi all,

I hope there are people here with experience in the Europe. I am new in Europe and planning to buy a car.

I had few choices, VW Golf, Peugeot 308, Ford Focus. But some of my friends here are telling me these cars are unreliable in terms of electrical components and suggest me to go for Toyota or Mazda.

So I decided to go for Toyota Auris Hybrid (2014/2015). 

1) Is this a right choice?

2) In general, can a 10 year old hybrid battery handle another 5 years?

Thank you.

PS: I know the reliability of each car / battery is unique as to how it is taken care of by their owners. But I am only looking answers from average use cases.

7 answers to this question

On 6/30/2023 at 8:43 PM, firstgear said:

Hi all,

I hope there are people here with experience in the Europe. I am new in Europe and planning to buy a car.

I had few choices, VW Golf, Peugeot 308, Ford Focus. But some of my friends here are telling me these cars are unreliable in terms of electrical components and suggest me to go for Toyota or Mazda.

So I decided to go for Toyota Auris Hybrid (2014/2015). 

1) Is this a right choice?

2) In general, can a 10 year old hybrid battery handle another 5 years?

Thank you.

PS: I know the reliability of each car / battery is unique as to how it is taken care of by their owners. But I am only looking answers from average use cases.

If your friends giving you advice are living in Sri Lanka and not Europe, then their advice is basically useless. European cars like Volkswagens, Fords and Peugeots hold up much better over there for some reason than they do in Sri Lanka, which is why they are popular, or else the Japanese would end up dominating the sales charts as they do in most other places.