• Welcome to AutoLanka

:action-smiley-028: We found you speeding on AutoLanka Forums without any registration! If you want the best experience, please sign in. Safe driving! 

Montero Experts

viking

Hi,.. I am researching on the 2003-2004 Montero that came with the 3.0L, 3.5L and 3.8L Multi Point Injection (MPI) V6 engines (Imported Brand New) and the Domestic Model GDI versions.

Can someone please let me know the following through own experience.

1. The average fuel consumption (real figures in city driving)?

2. Common problems in the MPI version engines if there are any?

3. Is there a thing called a GDI engine that does not give any trouble when used 95 octane petrol?

4. Any known mechanical problems? (for example with the auto-transmission, suspension, brakes etc.)

5. The current selling price/s depending on the engine type?

Also, how the Montero would compare with the Diesel Rextens? (apart from the obvious diesel economy)

Many thanks in advance....

I'm not an expert but i'll help you with some of the stuff you have asked. we have a GDI engine model.

- 4.5-5.5 depending on how you drive

- dont know, don't own one but from what i hear, they don't give many problems. other can verify

3. Is there a thing called a GDI engine that does not give any trouble when used 95 octane petrol?

- yes the jap imports are GDI engined. we have had one for about 2 years with no engine issues. we use only 95.

4. Any known mechanical problems? (for example with the auto-transmission, suspension, brakes etc.)

- none yet

- i have seen prices starting from 4.5 mil and up.

Also, how the Montero would compare with the Diesel Rextens? (apart from the obvious diesel economy)

... can't help here.. sorry

I owned a GDI engine model and can help to the best of my ability.

- 4.5-5.5 depending on how you drive - as Fuzzo says very accurate too and real world

- dont know, don't own one but from what i hear, they don't give many problems. other can verify