• Welcome to AutoLanka

:action-smiley-028: We found you speeding on AutoLanka Forums without any registration! If you want the best experience, please sign in. Safe driving! 

Cr51 4Wd Remove

thusithk

I am not an expert on this field but what I should advise you is that it is going to be some expensive project and would definitely lessen the second hand market value (when comparing with CR51 4WD).

I personal advise is to sell the CR51 and buy CR41/42 or 27 "lotto".

Hi Guys,

I have a CR51 full time 4WD and want to remove 4WD to use as 2WD. I want to know, how difficult to do that and what are the side effects.

Need your advice,

Thanks

What is the reason that you want to dis engage the 4WD?

Hi Guys,

I have a CR51 full time 4WD and want to remove 4WD to use as 2WD. I want to know, how difficult to do that and what are the side effects.

Need your advice,

Thanks

Well to do a proper job you will have to swap the front hubs with 2WD versions (this might impact other related bits like suspension and suspension arms), and if the transfer box is integrated into the gear box you will have to replace the gearbox and possibly other bits.

There might also be changes necessary interior trim like gear lever, gear lever surround etc

If done properly the side effects would be minimal but the cost will vary depending on how many of the components are shared with the 2WD version

I don't think its possible to carry out a straight forward hub swap, the CR51 comes with 14" wheels with a 5 stud bolt pattern. Also there is no transfer case, its only got a torque converter, hence why its a full time 4wd, not part time like the previous townace/liteace models.

Shouldn't you have taken all this in to consideration BEFORE you bought a AWD vehicle?

but then he won't be a stereotypical Sri Lankan car buyer. See what's important in the car is the TV/DVD/Nav system (even though the navigation does not work. Everything else should be figured out after the vehicle is purchased.