• Welcome to AutoLanka

:action-smiley-028: We found you speeding on AutoLanka Forums without any registration! If you want the best experience, please sign in. Safe driving! 

Break Not Work In Hill

amilaart

Question

I owned Toyota starlet ep91 MT and im very new to driving ( 3 wks)

some times with my poor clutch balancing car engine switch off.

but when this happen in hill (with high degree ) car rolling back and this situation it is hard to tackle.

my problem is,

when the situation of Engine switch off in high hill, im try to push break paddle but car not stop rolling back, and it is very hard to push the break paddle. (Some time this happen when switch of when reversing)

But when im driving it is not happen and break work in good condition.

cld you pls explain me is this is normal condition ( because some one say that with engine off, it is not support to breaking system )

thank you

Amila

7 answers to this question

DO NOT SWITCH OFF ENGINE AND TRY TO USE THE BREAKS.

The engine is required to run your breaks, The engine provides the needed power to pressurize the brake oil and so on. I am not explaining in full, the technicality behind this.

If you try to do the way you do now, either you will have an accident and while doing so will injure others and damage property to too.

Edited by varunatech

yes thank you varunatech, hope this is not fault in car, isnt it.

You lucky that you have not gone through an accident so far............and still you are in fear that this is a fault of your car and believe the break should work normal with your engine off. Read some basic info in web about car mechanics. Will help you.

But "NEVER AGAIN DO THIS", also never ever let your car run free in Neutral, when you go down hill or as a smart idea to save some fuel. That is a very BAD idea as well. Hope this helps....................there is something called engine break.........and you need it when you go down hill. Read it from Google.