• Welcome to AutoLanka

:action-smiley-028: We found you speeding on AutoLanka Forums without any registration! If you want the best experience, please sign in. Safe driving! 

Vtec Vs Vtec-e

shanX

Hi guys,

Sorry for asking, one of the most answered questions, Honda noob here :P

Could someone tell me how to figure out a Civic EG VTi vs an ETi. Would be helpful if there are any methods not involving 'taking off the engine cover' :D

Are there are any externally visually noticeable differences other than the engine valve head cover? :unsure:

Hi guys,

Sorry for asking, one of the most answered questions, Honda noob here :P

Could someone tell me how to figure out a Civic EG VTi vs an ETi. Would be helpful if there are any methods not involving 'taking off the engine cover' :D

Are there are any externally visually noticeable differences other than the engine valve head cover? :unsure:

VTEC - Variable valve Timing and lift Electronic Control. At low RPM, a VTEC engine uses a normal cam profile to retain a smooth idle, good fuel economy, and good low-end power delivery. The VTEC mechanism engages a high-lift, long-duration "race" cam profile at a set RPM value (i.e., ~5500RPM on the B16A) to increase high-end power delivery.

VTEC-E - Variable valve Timing and lift Electronic Control for Efficiency. This system isn't really VTEC as we know it. At low RPM, the VTEC-E mechanism effectively forces the engine to operate as a 12-valve engine - one of the intake valves does not open fully, thus decreasing fuel consumption. At a set RPM value (i.e., ~2500RPM in the D16Y5), the VTEC-E mechanism engages the 2nd intake valve, effectively resuming operation as a normal 16-valve engine. Note: in a VTEC-E engine, there are no high-RPM performance cam profiles; this engine is supposed to be tuned for fuel economy, right?