• Welcome to AutoLanka

:action-smiley-028: We found you speeding on AutoLanka Forums without any registration! If you want the best experience, please sign in. Safe driving! 

"what Car" Advice!

ShintaroX

Hey everyone! You guys probably get these questions all the time and I did a search to see if the same question has been asked before but couldn't find this exactly.

I'm new to Sri Lanka and expect I will be living here for some time and I'm looking to buy a car. My budget is about 3-3.5 million and I'd like to get something that:

1. Has a good ground clearance (the car I use at the moment keeps scraping on bumps in the road,)

2. Is economical to maintain (after the floods in Colombo I had to replace the alternator on my N16 and a guy just put a "reconditioned" one in for just a fraction!),

3. Is new (preferably brand new) or newish,

4. Is economical to run,

5. Is easy to sell in case I have to leave the country,

6. Is not a hatchback.

Can anyone suggest any models that fit this description on my budget?

Thanks a lot in advance!

Welcome to AL and also to SL :)

Unless it's a lowered car or a sports cars, most car shouldn't scrape the tarmac going over bumps. maybe you N16 has bad suspension. I've used one a bit myself and my sis too has an N16...we've not had any issues even with 4 people in the car.

Most mid level japanese sedans are relatively economical to maintain and parts are available widely. brands like toyota, nissan, honda etc have wide support base here so it's easy to find "used" parts from the breakers for cheaps

I would say a honda civic, toyota axio, nissan n16-n17

and three brands enjoy a very good demand and resale market.

i'm sure others will add more

Hey everyone! You guys probably get these questions all the time and I did a search to see if the same question has been asked before but couldn't find this exactly.