• Welcome to AutoLanka

:action-smiley-028: We found you speeding on AutoLanka Forums without any registration! If you want the best experience, please sign in. Safe driving! 

Low Cost Car

matroska

Hi Guys,

I am a student with around 400-500 thousand bucks in hand looking for a preferably small car for day to day purposes. Doesn't have to be anything fancy just something that gets me from Point A to B without stalling in the middle of the road and without guzzling too much fuel. What options have i got?

without stalling in the middle of the road and without guzzling too much fuel.

I cannot say anything about your first requirement. You will have to keep an eye on the mechanical side if you buy an old car. But if i were you, followings are the one that i would consider. mini miner, or a VW beetle or a charade (there was a trueno ae86 or something for sale but cannot remember anything about the prices and stuff)

If you want something 'cool', I too, would suggest a VW beetle. U can get a really well maintained one for that budget.

If you don't mind driving a very boring, ugly but a very reliable and economical car, I would suggest a Corolla DX wagon (KE72). U might even find a diesel converted one within your budget and your wallet will be happy. Another option you got is Lancer Box Model. If you go to Ratnapura area, u might be able to find a well maintained car within your budget. Especially the one with the Orion engine just keeps running and running and running.

Hi Guys,

I am a student with around 400-500 thousand bucks in hand looking for a preferably small car for day to day purposes. Doesn't have to be anything fancy just something that gets me from Point A to B without stalling in the middle of the road and without guzzling too much fuel. What options have i got?

What about an previous gen. Mini Cooper? I figure it'd be fun to drive around and would make for student budget friendly fuel and maintenance bills.

Edited by Kavvz