• Welcome to AutoLanka

:action-smiley-028: We found you speeding on AutoLanka Forums without any registration! If you want the best experience, please sign in. Safe driving! 

Need Advice Buying My First Car

DarkangeL

Hello gents,

I've been lurking around for some time now, reading the posts on the forum, and its quite apparent that lot of people know what they're talking about, so decided to ask for some advice.

I currently drive a Maruti 800, which is my father's car. It's a good car, reliable, economic, but it is neither comfortable nor a very fun car to drive. So I was looking around for a newer Japanese car, and my friends suggested a Suzuki Swift or a Chevrolet Cruze (one of which my friend owns as well). My budget is 1.7 - 1.8 million, and a used Swift goes around for that price, so it seemed a good idea.

One of my initial choice of car was the Toyota Corolla AE 110. But since the car is relatively old, one of my concerns was repairs. I'm not really technically aligned when it comes to cars and I don't really like spending a lot of time in garages. (I drove an old Doctor Sunny for a while and it was breaking down almost every week - drove me crazy.) Hence the choice to go for a newer car.

Although, I am a fan of Honda Civics, (Never owned one, sadly.) and reading around, the EK3 seemed like a decent car. I read somewhere about it having an economy mode or something and how you could drive it without having the petrol meter move around like a tachometer. Some enlightenment on this please?

My driving usually consists of going to work and some trips around Colombo on weekends. I usually travel about 40 - 50 km a day. So my basic requirements are;

Fuel economy

Comfort

Driving ease

Fairly low maintenance

Resale value

The vehicles I've been looking at are;

Suzuki Swift (The Ignis type model)

Chevrolet Cruze

Mazda 323

Honda EK3

Any kind of help will be really appreciated.

Thanks