• Welcome to AutoLanka

:action-smiley-028: We found you speeding on AutoLanka Forums without any registration! If you want the best experience, please sign in. Safe driving! 

Concerns On Setting Up An Alloy-Wheel Set

zee boy

Question

Guys-

I am thinking of setting up an alloy wheel set for my FIT hybrid car. The questions I have is -

Would it do any good or bad to the vehicle performance and fuel consumption as I have heard various stories on alloy wheel performance. Please advice.

20 answers to this question

Well I'm not an expert, but I can say it will depends on multiple factors which ultimately determine you wheels Inertia compared with new wheel Inertia.

Inertia depends on the material ( whether it heavier or lighter ) and distribution of material in the wheel ( in a same weight wheel if more constituent located outer side/ border it will have more inertia.)

If Inertia high in a wheel will have high Angular Momentum ( Difficulty of start rotation, change the direction of the rotation and to stop the rotation ), and thus need high Angular kinetic energy.

If it utilize high energy that will affect fuel consumption as well as performance

Well for performance will depends on many factors hope automotive experts will comment here.

What I can say is if above criteria goes high it will negatively affect Acceleration and breaks as well as cornering but if you go for wider but lighter tyre by keeping above criteria constant you can have good traction thus good handling.

Actually to advice regarding tyre brand wheel brands wheel material , I'm also new to this field still reading.

To suggest a place you haven't mentioned where you're from.

Go through forum topics all these has discussed earlier and please do a search. here are some.

1. http://forum.autolanka.com/topic/15271-alloy-wheels-and-tyre-change-advise/?hl=%2Balloy+%2Bwheels

2. http://forum.autolanka.com/topic/14528-corolla-ae-110-fuel-consumption-issues/page-2#entry244091