• Welcome to AutoLanka

:action-smiley-028: We found you speeding on AutoLanka Forums without any registration! If you want the best experience, please sign in. Safe driving! 

Need Advice On A Buying A Car

lakshan20

Question

Hi,

I'm new to the Autolanka forum. I need some advises from the experts here. I'm expecting to buy a brand new car around 2.5 million. What would be the best brand new car in that range? Currently I'm focusing on Viva Elite bt I have seen lot of threads here mentioning that it's not worth that much. I need an AT car with good fuel economy and low maintenance costs. Please advice.

Thanks

17 answers to this question

Viva elite, maruti a-star and micro voleex are your options. In sinhala, its like selecting between kahi gaani, hotu gaani and hori gaani

If those are ur only choices I vote maruti. Used a wagonR and it never gave me any trouble. :)

• Like 1

The A-Star is sold as the new Alto almost everywhere else but the Indians have kept the old Alto in production due to its popularity. That and the Viva are best cars in that list though I'm saddened this is all 2.5 million buys these days. Only about a year and a half ago the Viva manual could be had for 1.4 million.

The A-Star is sold as the new Alto almost everywhere else but the Indians have kept the old Alto in production due to its popularity. That and the Viva are best cars in that list though I'm saddened this is all 2.5 million buys these days. Only about a year and a half ago the Viva manual could be had for 1.4 million.

The A-Star actually comes with a Maruti K10B engine while the export versions of Alto actually have an 800CC Suzuki engine. The Maruti engine is mated with a Suzuki Auto tranny, making it a bit of a frankenstein, since that engine is primarily designed for the Indian market which prefers stick shift.

I would actually stick with the Viva Elite on this one