• Welcome to AutoLanka

:action-smiley-028: We found you speeding on AutoLanka Forums without any registration! If you want the best experience, please sign in. Safe driving! 

Throttle Body Cleaner Alternatives

LancerL

Question

Can somebody please advice a best alternative to clean throttle body at home.

Rather expensive branded cleaners, can it be clean by using a little amount of Petrol or Kerosene as I have seen most of the mechanics use above to clean Carburetors and other parts of vehicles to remove carbon, oil and dust.

I have gone through some online videos and looks it is not a big deal of cleaning the body and the butterfly plate using a liquid, a used toothbrush and a small microfiber towel.

Your valuable comments and experience are welcome.!!

7 answers to this question

I am not an expert on this, but I recently bought a bottle of throttle plate & carb cleaner (3M) from w*w.lk. It is just under Rs. 1000/- per bottle & it should be ok.

I can't recommend any other usual solvents such as petrol as some plastics, sensors, and minute springs are involved there.

Rather expensive branded cleaners, can it be clean by using a little amount of Petrol or Kerosene as I have seen most of the mechanics use above to clean Carburetors and other parts of vehicles to remove carbon, oil and dust.

I have gone through some online videos and looks it is not a big deal of cleaning the body and the butterfly plate using a liquid, a used toothbrush and a small microfiber towel.

Wurth or 3M is the ideal products. But if you want to get your hands dirty, you can pull off the TB and use petrol and a small brush and clean. But remove all rubber seals and O rings before you do any cleaning with any of these solvents. Having access to compressed air also will be a big plus.

Edited by VVTi