• Welcome to AutoLanka

:action-smiley-028: We found you speeding on AutoLanka Forums without any registration! If you want the best experience, please sign in. Safe driving! 

Illegal mods in Sri Lanka?

Jason Diaz

Hi folks! I'm new to Auto Lanka forum. I'm thinking of building a Toyota GT 86 specifically for drifting. I'll leave a list of parts I've chosen for my build. Are any of these parts/mods illegal in Sri Lanka? 🙄 I'm not gonna modify the stock Subaru boxer engine. Instead I'll swap the stock engine with a 2JZ-GTE. 

1. OZ wheels

2. Bilstein Suspension kit

3. Rocket Bunny wide bodykit

4. Rocket Bunny spoilers

5. Garret or Rocket Bunny Twin Turbos

6. Neon lights (underglow, trunk) 

7. Borla exhaust system

8. Dual clutch transmission

9. Continental tires

10. Haltech ECU

11. 500W Alpine audio system

Is it possible to do this in Sri Lanka? 

Edited by Jason Diaz

49 minutes ago, Jason Diaz said:

Hi folks! I'm new to Auto Lanka forum. I'm thinking of building a Toyota GT 86 specifically for drifting. I'll leave a list of parts I've chosen for my build. Are any of these parts/mods illegal in Sri Lanka? 🙄 I'm not gonna modify the stock Subaru boxer engine. Instead I'll swap the stock engine with a 2JZ-GTE. 

1. OZ wheels

2. Bilstein Suspension kit

3. Rocket Bunny wide bodykit

4. Rocket Bunny spoilers

5. Garret or Rocket Bunny Twin Turbos

6. Neon lights (underglow, trunk) 

7. Borla exhaust system

8. Dual clutch transmission

9. Continental tires

10. Haltech ECU

11. 500W Alpine audio system

Is it possible to do this in Sri Lanka? 

Drifting in Sri Lanka? Where do you want to take it to drift?

As far as the legality is concerned anything that you do to the vehicle to change from stock you need to get prior approval from the RMV. If your registration certificate says a certain parameter that has to be adhered to. As for the engine you will need to get it registered with the said engine if not you may not be able to do your annual eco testing.