• Welcome to AutoLanka

:action-smiley-028: We found you speeding on AutoLanka Forums without any registration! If you want the best experience, please sign in. Safe driving! 

Looking to buy my first car

carlover_07

Question

Hey Guys,

First of all, apologies for asking a such a repeated question here on AL, but since this is going to be my first car, I want to be absolutely sure before I make my decision. My budget is around 2.5m and the most I can stretch to is 2.8m. The daily commute will be around 40km (so yes I do consider fuel consumption to be a factor). Don't and won't care if it's toyota (but I do like the look of the starlet ep91) and the maintenance should be hassle-free (as I'm still a student).

I've done some research myself and shortlisted potential vehicles that suit my requirement,

1. Viva elite 2011ish manual transmission 
  2. Suzuki Swift 2009ish
  3. Nissan March AK12

I do prefer hatchbacks over sedans but do suggest me some vehicles that fall within my budget range and what you think of my first choices.

I'm not the biggest car guy, so tips and pointers to buying the first car will also be highly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

13 answers to this question

I'm a big fan of your first option Viva elite 2011ish manual transmission if the car is well maintained. I think its Daihatsu Dual VVTi EJ-VE engine is really good. I love the Manual transmission, it is pretty fun for been a lighter car.

Not having ABS and Airbags is a little concern.

• Like 2

10 hours ago, carlover_07 said:

since this is going to be my first car, I want to be absolutely sure before I make my decision. My budget is around 2.5m and the 

I've done some research myself and shortlisted

1. Viva elite 2011ish manual transmission 
  2. Suzuki Swift 2009ish
  3. Nissan March AK12

I think any of the three listed above will be excellent as a starter car. My advice would be to pick any of the above and focus on getting the best maintained car you can find.